Author Topic: Naming conventions  (Read 24824 times)

Timebandit

• View Profile
Naming conventions
« Reply #45 on: August 22, 2007, 10:53:14 AM »
Quote from: kuri
What I more couldn't get was, "How does she not understand?" "Aren't I totally obvious?" (Especially with the first name. And I paid for the freakin' washer/dryer anyway, so the credit card information would be in my real name, too.)

Not much of a saleswoman -- you were pretty clear and if she'd have been at all quick on the uptake she'd have adjusted and apologized.

When I worked in customer service for a cable company I had to phone account holders sometimes, and there often wasn't any info on spouse name...  You're kind of forced into the "Mrs whatever" situation, although I generally used Ms instead.  Very few objected to the Ms, and if there was a different surname, I always acknowledged and apologized for the mistake, then left a note attached to the account so the next person wouldn't screw it up.  I only wish some of my co-workers would have done the same.
Whenever anyone has offended me, I try to raise my soul so high that the offense cannot reach it. -Rene Descartes, philosopher and mathematician (1596-1650)

brebis noire

• View Profile
Naming conventions
« Reply #46 on: August 22, 2007, 11:05:18 AM »
Heh, that would never happen in Quebec without some kind of apology. (Which reminds me: there was a recent news item in Quebec about a 20-something woman who was upset that she wasn't allowed by the govnmt to take her husband's name. Freedumb-minions predictably got all het up about that till somebody pointed out she's probably the only woman since 1983 who's upset about this.  :lol: )

When I'm at the clinic and I call people from the waiting room, I escape this problem by using the pet's name rather than the person whose name is on the file...sometimes that causes problems though, as there's often more than one Mimine or Molly in the room.