Author Topic: Blog Design  (Read 4908 times)

fern hill

• View Profile
    • http://scathinglywrongrightwingnutz.blogspot.com/
Blog Design
« on: September 26, 2006, 03:52:52 PM »
I'm pretty new to the blogosphere. I want to know -- who the hell designed the blog template with the centred copy that many people are using? It's illegible. It's like trying to read a two-page wedding invitation. It sux big time. I was just at Judy Rebick's blog http://judyrebick.blogspot.com/ to read about the cuts to Status of Women and she's using it too!!! Screw her.

I'm starting a personal boycott of all blogs with centred copy.

pogge

• View Profile
    • Peace, order and good government, eh?
Blog Design
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 04:09:00 PM »
I think that's one of the standard Blogger templates with no customization. By "centred" I'm assuming you mean the whole design is centred with a fixed width 'cos the copy itself is left-justified. If you changed your video resolution to 800 x 600 I bet you'd find that it's designed to just fit in a full browser window with no sidescroll. And it's likely a table based design with the column widths fixed in pixels rather than percentages.

It wouldn't take much to at least change the main column to float. I know that because that's what I did with ours (which I'm beginning to think is due for an overhaul, but who has time?).

fern hill

• View Profile
Blog Design
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2006, 04:12:53 PM »
pogge, by centred I mean centred. It is not left-justified. It is ragged left and right. It looks like an invitation. pogge.ca is lovely and airy. I don't think it needs changing.

Herr Magoo

• View Profile
Blog Design
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2006, 04:27:27 PM »
I tell students that there are only two valid reasons for centring like that:  fancy wedding invitations, and fancy restaurant menus.  If you look at either, and squint, it's like a Rorschach Ink Blot Test.